Lets talk about technique

i think that we need to start discussing more about technique. I appreciate that there are other issues but I personally miss this element in this forum.

I will introduce one issue. I have been doing rueda for a few years now and I have noticed that a number of issues arise when new dancers get stuck with the mambo fwd back basic and do not fully transfer weight or rotate their shoulder line in a left right (or shoulder lead - or merengue action). This becomes evident especially if after the guapea the caller asks for an enchufla move. Those who have problems with this appear to step on the correct foot but their shoulderline is in the wrong place (it is in contra) thus blocking them from going into the enchufla move correctly.

If others have an efficient way to help new dancers to overcome this issue then I would be happy to hear them.

Any other technique issues are also welcomed here.

Jag75

Son Montuno
I agree - these forums have moved away from technique discussions for whatever reason. The dance evolves so what was the “better way to do something” 15 years ago is not so today. One example is the massive steps and over-enthusiastic acrobatics that were the norm 15 years ago, compared to today’s much more refined dancing.

In regards to the shoulder line in rueda, I think it’s important for the instructor to introduce basic step drills at the beginning of each class, which includes the guapea. Don’t overburden the students with details, but just make it a regular thing and mention the shoulder line each time about half-way through the drill. Eventually the students will pick up on this good habit.

Moved away from technique? I perceive frequent criticism (and of the scene in general as well) is too much emphasis on technique, and not enough savor or not enough musicality. Or too much of ballroom technique in salsa :)

I think a lot of posters who discussed technique and were interested in it, are no longer active on the forum.