Videos of my summer in Cuba

Discussion in 'Salsa Music' started by timbero-fi, Sep 20, 2016.

1. Hi all!

I spent two months of this summer in Cuba for my masters' thesis in musicology. I was there doing field research, dancing, taking classes, going to concerts, getting to know people and in general, just having a good time. :) As I'm an amateur (but working) photographer, I had my camera with me as I wanted to capture the marvel that is the Cuban dance/music culture! Video is a new medium for me, but I practiced it somewhat this spring so that I could actually get something done in Cuba.

As I was working for my thesis, I didn't want to carry a back-bag of "hey I'm a tourist"-equipment for the whole time, but still I managed to get some nice footage! I will be updating this playlist with more videos of music and dance as I get trough the material but here are some of the best stuff that I have, enjoy!

Playlist: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLhu4-eE5w5yiYFziHVWUfO0Losl9_WUkq
    My Youtube user: https://www.youtube.com/user/MatiasLoyt

Best regards
    Matias Löyttyniemi

TSC, Sabrosura, MAMBO_CEC and 2 others like this.
  2. timberamayor

timberamayor Maestro 'Sonero' Lavoe

Nice! thanks for sharing.

timbero-fi likes this.
  3. I just added a new video from a concert of Osain del Monte! For those who don't know them, Osain del Monte is a young, energetic and innovative rumba group that has just released their first album. I went to their concerts four times during my 2-month trip to Cuba, and the atmosphere was always through the roof! Especially in the second half of the set the dance floor was packed with people dancing the night away!