The role of instruments in salsa

Discussion in 'Salsa Music' started by El Conguero, Aug 2, 2010.

1. El Conguero

El Conguero Tumbao

Hi all,

Well, some1 asked 4 it so I'm doin' it - this is a place to post questions, comments etc. about the roles of different instruments used in salsa music. Despite claims by PR, NY & Cuba at the origin of salsa, the music has spread throughout the US and Latin America and the instruments/roles can vary.

So, if you got questions or think u can answer them, here's your chance. :)

2. groovetpt

groovetpt Capitán Del Estilo

I could talk forever about trumpets and brass instruments in salsa music but don't want to bore anyone to death. I'd be happy to take a stab at anyone's questions. I have some experience playing salsa music with some pretty good musicians.

I would like to hear from the percussionists, which are the heart of latin music. I see and observe what the timbal, conguero and bongocero does on stage but I don't really know much about the patterns they play.

I'll say one thing though, I do love a conguero like Eddie Montalvo who does not showboat and solo much but damn if he doesn't make a band swing. And some timbaleros are very "busy", throwing in lot's of fills, but the ones that just play straight time for the most part and give the music that swinging feel is what I dig most. I love the way a bongocero switches to cowbell when the montuno/coro/soneo kicks in and the way they lead in the mambo or moña (I'm thinking Conjunto Clasico there).

3. El Conguero

El Conguero Tumbao

Percussion in typical salsa / son montuno

As a conguero I gotta say I agree about timbaleros who do a lot of fills, though I have to admit I tend to do that myself on congas lol. Any time it's overdone, it's too "busy" and is probably closer to Timba (see my other topic about that).