"Just FEEL the music"

Discussion in 'Just Dance' started by RugKutta, Nov 5, 2008.

1. RugKutta

RugKutta Tumbao

I've been meaning to post about this for a while now, but have been procrastinating as usual. Ee98iae's recent post "Obsessed with time" inspired me to go ahead and put my 10 cents down about this topic.

We've all heard the phrase "just feel the music" in regards to dancing salsa. But what does this phrase really mean? If I'm a beginner in a salsa class and someone tells me to "feel the music," how exactly do I put this into practice? How can I tell when I'm doing it? I think that such a thing as "feeling the music" is alot easier said than done.

I believe that, while there are some people who say this and know exactly what it means, there are too many more people who say this to others without totally understanding all that it entails. At the risk of over-complicating things, I think that "feeling the music" is not nearly as simple as those who haphazardly use this phrase make it seem. Telling someone to "just feel the music" is about as problematic as telling a beginner salsera to "just follow."