Hitting New York...

Discussion in 'Just Dance' started by Pax, Apr 23, 2008.

1. Pax

Pax Son Montuno

Hello salsa-people,

I will be in New York for almost two weeks, from April 27 (this Sunday) to May 10. Since I am a total beginner to the city, including the salsa scene need your help! :D

* Please give advice on the best on2 venues. If you have suggestions for each night it would be great!

* We aim at taking some private lessons, please give advice on good ET2 teachers. A teacher that is technical and methodical is preferable. We want to improve technique rather than learning new patterns and footwork.

* We also aim at taking some class lessons, which ET2 teachers have drop in classes?

Thanks for your help All,

2. Capibaribe

Capibaribe Sonero

Some limited advise from a non NYer, bet others will chime in when they wake up :)
    Check out the Salsa NY calender at mambofateegz.com I believe everything is there :) Jimmy Antons and Mambo fateegz socials is goood!!
    Don't go over the stream to fetch water (or some other silly saying). Go directly to the source, the king of mambo!

3. irishgirl

irishgirl Rhythm Deputy

where's oncent when you need him :)

4. PielCanela

PielCanela Sabor Ambassador

hey :) send me a PM, we sure need to make plans to meet :) about lessons almost every instructor has drop in lessons, now if you want technique you will probably be better off with a private, groups are mostly patterns, technique is also addressed in those classes, but no where near what you will need if technique is what you are looking for.

of all the group lessons that i have visit I think danceon2 with melanie torres (daugther of eddie torres) has the most technique (again relatively speaking). Frankie will have some technique but hist stuff is so advance that I think if you need technique you better stick with the basics.